Last weekend I spend sometime working on my little balcony garden.  I have a long narrow balcony that faces due west so it gets lots of afternoon sun. While I would love a real in the ground garden, I am thrilled to have the little garden I have.  I mainly grow edibles and herbs but have started adding in flowers since we have a TON of hummingbirds in our complex and I like to keep them happy.  There are so many hummingbirds… one day I counted about 20 around 2 feeders on my neighbors patio. Man those little guys are loud. I haven’t been able to get good pictures of them feeding but they like to hang out around the garden….

Them feeding ( a bit fuzzy)

 

I got some new veggies for the garden –  some lettuce, peppers, and an heirloom tomato. Also got some more strawberries, some chocolate mint, and some lemon balm.  Already in the garden I have  a cherry tomato, some sugar snap peas, carrots, radishes, chives, parsley, thyme, sage, rosemary, peppermint, spearmint, green onions, strawberries, a tiny lilac bush, and a bunch of flowers!

Here are some pics of the garden:

 

Lettuce!

Snap Peas!

 

The hanging baskets hold all the strawberries.

It may be a tiny garden but I have packed a lot in there.  I love being able to walk out the kitchen door to grab some herbs for dinner, and watching the hummingbirds feed on the flowers is just amazing. I think my favorite though is using the mints for fresh herbal teas, so very yummy.

 

What is your favorite thing to grow in the garden?

 

