This year is just flying by way too fast!  I can’t believe it is already November!

I love the fall. The cool weather, the yummy food, and being able to wear my sweaters again. Sadly it going to be in the 90′s this week in LA, not very Fall like weather. Despite the heat wave I am embracing Fall full force. I made the yummiest spicy pumpkin soup last night! I should have taken some pictures but I didn’t so I will use the ones from the lovely website Pinch My Salt.

Doesn’t that look good?

The pumpkin soup was lovely and not the normal super sweet pumpkin dish you get at the holidays. This had a nice kick to it. I used jalapeno instead of the Serranos because that’s what Trader Joe’s had. I used 2, with seeds, and the soup and a nice kick but not too spicy, of course I am a wimp when it comes to spicy stuff.  My cilantro Pesto didn’t turn out as well, but I think that was mainly the fault of poor cilantro. I purchased a huge bunch yesterday morning at the farmers market, it smelled great, but had no flavor.  I loved the cheese and pomegranate in the soup too! The pomegranate was a beautiful counter part to the spiciness of the soup.  Along with the soup we warmed up some crusty bread and then had an apple crisp for dessert, all while watching The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Great Halloween!

With the new month starting it is also time to change my computer’s desktop picture. I have fallen in love with Christiane Engel’s desktop calendars.  Not only is the artwork beautiful, it is super handy to have a calendar right there on my desktop! Here is this months, but go to her site to get the larger version!

 

What are your favorite things about Fall?

 

 

 

